Deleting files

Home | Glossary | Cutting & Pasting | Installing Software | Downloading | Creating Shortcuts | Creating New Folder | Saving A File | Moving A File | Copying To Floppy | Opening A File | Finding A File | Attaching File To E-Mail | Deleting Files | Getting Out Of Trouble | Shutting Down The Computer | Maintaining Your Computer | Protecting From Virus | System Information | Safe Mode | Bookmark | Guestbook | Some General Tips | Links | Computer Jokes | Test Your Knowledge | Computer Buying Tips | ABC'S OF COMPUTING | INTERNET BASICS FOR SENIORS | HELP WITH WINDOWS XP | BESTNETGURU.COM |

Okay, it is time for spring cleaning. You don't need to save that letter to the bakery manager anymore. He has refunded part of your money and apologized for misspelling your grand son's name on his birthday cake. You are now ashamed, not proud, of the poems you wrote two years ago. Neither do you want to save those personal letters you wrote to your fellow traveler on your cruise to the Bahamas over the last 14 months or so. You are not that close to her anymore. She has changed quite a bit. She does not even reply to you these days. So why should you save those letters?

So how do you delete those files? Easy. Go to My Computer. Open the folder containing the file(s) you want delete. Click once on the file to highlight it first. Then click on File. On the dropdown menu, click on Delete. A "Confirm File Delete" dialog box will appear asking you if you were sure that you wanted to send that file to the Recycle Bin. Click on Yes. Your file will be sent to the Recycle Bin.

Several Notes:

Sending a file or a folder to the Recycle Bin only means you have moved the file or folder to a different folder. To reclaim disk space you must Empty Recycle Bin. Only then a file or folder is permanently deleted from your computer.

Double clicking on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop will open the Recycle Bin folder. If you click on Empty Recycle Bin on the left, ALL items in the Recycle Bin will be permanently deleted. You will, of course, get a "Confirm File Delete" dialog box in case you want to change your mind.

If there are a number of items in the Recycle Bin, and you want to delete only a few of them permanently, highlight them first, then click on File, then click on Delete. Again you will be presented with a "Confirm File Delete" dialog box in case you made a mistake.

What if you had made a mistake in sending a file or files to the Recycle Bin in the first place? Just open Recycle Bin and hit Restore All. All of your files and folders will be safely returned to their original locations, as if nothing had happened.

Want to restore only one or few files? No problem. Highlight the files you want restore first. Now click on File, then click on Restore. The selected files will be restored to their original locations.

To highlight a number of items together, click on the first item to highlight it, then press the Ctrl button and while keeping it pressed, click on other items one after the other until you have highlighted all the desired items.

To quickly highlight consecutive items, click on the first item, then press and hold the Shift key and click on the last item. Everything in-between will be highlighted simultaneously! Cool.

If you need help using the Internet, check out the companion site:
Internet Basics For Seniors
If you need help with Windows XP, check out the companion site:
Help with Windows XP (New)
If you are an absolute beginner in computing, check out:

ABC's of Computing

RETURN TO THE HOME PAGE OF BESTNETGURU.COM

<< Attaching a file to an e-mail

Getting out of trouble >>

Return to top

Copyright © 2002 Silabhadra Sen
All Rights Reserved